St. Mary's Church,  Mariapura


Reach us

Mariapura Kothanuur
Chamarajanagar Dt

Phone : NA

St. Mary's Church, Mariapura, is a village parish surrounded by beautiful mountains. It is situated at the Kollegal Taluk, of Chamrajanagar district, Karnataka. It comes under the jurisdiction of the diocese of Mysore. This village Parish consists of 90 families and it is an emerging faith-community at various levels. The first seeds of faith and Gospel were sown at Mariapura, fourty-five years ago by a French missionary, namely, Fr. Jean Jacquet. Later, in the year 2002 witnessed the arrival of Vincentians, through the instrumentality of Fr. Augustine Paliyathil CM who were followed by Fr. George Kannamkulath CM and Fr.Sebastian Vettickal CM. In the year 2005, Fr. Jaison Ambadan CM took charge as the Parish Priest and played a great role in constructing a new parish Church and a grotto dedicated to Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal. Adjacent to the Parish church is the Mother house of the Satya Seva catechist Sisters founded by Sr. Regina. Today, the Vincentians continue to render their humble service to Mariapura people through the persons of Fr. D. Peter Martin

<< Go back to previous page